Scholars Trust

Welcome to Scholars Trust

The Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) and the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) have signed an agreement to combine the contents of their respective print journal archives under a single retention and access agreement called “Scholars Trust.” The combined title list exceeds 8,000 journal titles and more than 300,000 volumes, making the Scholars Trust archive one of the largest print journal repositories in the United States. At the same time, WRLC and ASERL libraries have agreed to extend reciprocal priority Inter-Library Loan (ILL) services across the group.

The following ASERL libraries are participating in this program:
  • Auburn University
  • College of William & Mary
  • Duke University
  • East Carolina University
  • Emory University
  • Georgia Tech
  • Louisiana State University
  • Mississippi State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Tulane University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Florida
  • University of Kentucky
  • University of Louisville
  • University of Memphis
  • University of Mississippi
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • University of South Carolina
  • University of Tennessee
  • University of Virginia
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia Tech
  • Wake Forest University
The following WRLC libraries are participating in this program:
  • American University
  • The Catholic University of America
  • Gallaudet University
  • George Mason University
  • The George Washington University
  • Georgetown University
  • Howard University
  • Marymount University
  • The University of the District of Columbia


To participate in the program, an ASERL library need only submit a concise letter of agreement signed by the library dean (or higher authority) affirming to comply with the program policies.

Sample Letter of Agreement
Journal Retention Program Update (Powerpoint, April 2013)

ASERL Journal Retention Steering Committee, Program Work Day, February 12, 2013

Meeting Minutes (pdf)
Introduction to WRLC's Journal Archiving Program - Mark Jacobs/Bruce Hulse. (PowerPoint)
Shared Print Management – Recommendations for Use of the MARC 583 to Document the ASERL Retention Agreement – Cheryle Cole-Bennett/John Burger. (PowerPoint)

The project's Steering Committee is focused on the steps needed to implement this policy. For more information about this effort, please contact John Burger.